RSS Feed

Sub by Email

Twitter Me


Peter Higgins, author of Wolfhound Century

Myke Cole, author of Shadow Ops Series

John Brown John, translator of the Zamonia Novels

Jim C. Hines author of Libriomancer

Nick Harkaway author of Angelmaker (review here)

Martha Wells author of The Cloud Roads

David Tallerman author of Giant Thief

Mazarkis Williams author of The Emperor's Knife

Rob Ziegler author of Seed

Steven Gould author of 7th Sigma

Douglas Hulick author of Among Thieves (review here)

Mark Charan Newton author of Nights of Villjamur (review here)

Kameron Hurley author of God's War (review here)

Brent Weeks author of The Black Prism (review here)

Anthony Huso author of The Last Page (review here)

Brandon Sanderson author of The Way of Kings (review here)

Lou Anders Editor of Pyr Books

Ian Tregillis author of Bitter Seeds (review here)

Sam Sykes author of Tome of the Undergates (review here)

Benjamin Parzybok author of Couch (review here)

Kristine Kathryn Rusch author of Diving Into the Wreck (review here)

Ken Scholes author of Lamentation

Cherie Priest author of Boneshaker (review here)

Lev Grossman author of The Magicians (review here)

Character Interviews

Alexia and Lord Maccon from Gail Carriger's Soulless

Lord Akeldama from Gail Carriger's Soulless

Eva Forge from Tim Akers's The Horns of Ruin

Atticus from Kevin Hearne's Hounded


The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett

A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson

Scoundrels by Timothy Zahn

Cold Days by Jim Butcher

Year Zero by Rob Reid

Alif: The Unseen by G. Willow Wilson

Scourge of the Betrayer by Jeff Salyards

Redshirts by John Scalzi

Control Point by Myke Cole

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway
My BlogCatalog BlogRank Wikio - Top Blogs - Literature

MINI-REVIEW | In the Land of Invented Languages by Arika Okrent (Spiegel & Grau)

Have you ever wanted to learn about the origin of Tolkien's Quenya language spoken by the Elves? Or about other made up languages? Than In the Land of Invented Languages is the right book for you. Journey with the Arika, a trained linguist, to Klingon Conventions where she attempts to earn her beginner's certificate. Discover how Esperanto became one of the best known invented languages and why it is dying along with the system and history of many others.

This is the type of book that could be dry, but Arika averts that danger by interjecting jokes liberally such as wanting to find out what the word shit is in these languages first and foremost, because who doesn't want to swear in other languages? The lighthearted and informative style will keep you intrigued even when some of the translations and diagrams can get tiresome, although they do help explain the formulas for many of the languages. I give In the Land of Invented Languages 8 out of 10 Hats. Fans of Stefan Fatsis's Word Freak or Kurlansky's Salt: A World History would enjoy this one.

Book link US Europe Canada

You Might Also Like:
Was Superman a Spy? by Brian Cronin
The Ridiculous Race by Steve Hely & Vali Chandrasekaran